

NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL ASSEMBLY

NORTH CAROLINA SENATE

January 26, 2024

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Biden:

Since taking office, your policies and derelict leadership have left border states helpless in securing the southern border. Your failures have resulted in a fullscale emergency, with states like Texas having no choice but to fend for themselves. Instead of offering assistance to our southern border states, your administration has gone out of its way to obstruct efforts by Texas to guard illegal points of entry.

As elected officials in the North Carolina Senate, we know firsthand the consequences of your failure to secure the border. We wrote to Secretary Mayorkas last April highlighting the surge in drug overdoses in North Carolina caused by your open-border policies, and we asked for action. Since then, the situation has only gotten worse. Clearly, our call went unanswered.

We are writing to call on your administration to stop thwarting Texas from effectively guarding the southern border. The United States is facing a national security crisis with real threats of crime, drug trafficking, and terrorism. North Carolina stands with Texas and it's time your administration stops impeding Gov. Greg Abbott from protecting his state and our nation.

Sincerely,

Phil Berger NC Senate – District 26

W. Jul aufard.

W. Ted Alexander NC Senate – District 44

isa Barn

Lisa S. Barnes NC Senate – District 11

James A. Burgin

Jim Burgin NC Senate – District 12

David W. Craven, Jr. NC Senate – District 29

Carl Ford NC Senate – District 33

Bolly

Bobby Hanig NC Senate – District 3

Steve Jarvis NC Senate – District 30

Joyce Krawiec NC Senate – District 31

2

Danny Earl Britt, Jr. NC Senate – District 24

Kevin Corbin NC Senate – District 50

Alle 1 Jane

Warren Daniel NC Senate – District 46

any A gal

Amy S. Galey NC Senate – District 25

E Hu h

Ralph Hise NC Senate – District 47

Todd Johnson NC Senate – District 35

Muchada

Michael A. Lazzara NC Senate – District 6

Michael V. Lee NC Senate – District 7

Timothy D. Moffitt NC Senate – District 48

ParCRA

Paul Newton NC Senate – District 34

Jim Perry NC Senate – District 2

Bill Rabon NC Senate – District 8

Benton G. Sawrey NC Senate – District 10

Eddi D. Settle

Eddie D. Settle NC Senate – District 36

Tom McInnis NC Senate – District 21

Buck Newton NC Senate – District 4

Brod Overcosh

Brad Overcash NC Senate – District 43

4.7

Dean Proctor NC Senate – District 45

Morman Sanderson 100

Norman W. Sanderson NC Senate – District 1

Vickie Sawyer NC Senate – District 37

cc: The Honorable Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas, U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security